World Cup 1990: When Cameroon stunned Argentina | Football News


West Germany grew to become the third nation – after Brazil and Italy – to win the World Cup for the third time.

Host: Italy
Groups: 24
Format: Group stage, knockouts
Matches: 52
Targets: 115
Winner: West Germany
Runners-up: Argentina
Golden boot: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)


The 1990 World Cup was a primary for a lot of, in addition to the final.

On the political and geographical facet, it will be the final World Cup for West Germany because the nation would unify with East Germany a number of months later and play all subsequent tournaments as Germany. The USSR additionally performed its final World Cup as a union earlier than its dissolution the next yr.

Italy had been one of many favourites to win the match, together with Argentina, England and West Germany.

Costa Rica, the Republic of Eire and the United Arab Emirates made their debut, whereas Egypt and the USA made their return after a protracted absence. Earlier finalists France didn’t qualify.

The match kicked off with one of many largest upsets in its historical past: Cameroon, enjoying solely their second World Cup, beat defending champions Argentina 1-0. They then went on to beat Romania and certified for the knockouts.

Argentina superior as nicely however as one of many third-placed groups.

Cameroon and the Republic of Eire had been the shock qualifiers for the quarterfinals, as Brazil, the Netherlands and Uruguay had been knocked out.

Each semifinals had been selected penalty shootouts, leading to heartbreak and tears for Italy (4-3 loss to Argentina) and England (4-3 loss to West Germany).

The ultimate didn’t dwell as much as the event as each groups deployed defensive ways. The primary purple card of a World Cup remaining was proven to Argentina’s Pedro Monzon within the sixty fifth minute.

Regardless of dealing with a weakened facet for the remainder of the match, West Germany didn’t threaten the Argentinian objective. They finally scored the sport’s solely objective from the penalty spot after 85 minutes.

West Germany grew to become the third nation (after Brazil and Italy) to win the World Cup for the third time.


Franz Beckenbauer grew to become the primary particular person to win a World Cup as captain and supervisor.

Cameroon grew to become the primary African nation to qualify for the quarterfinals.


Defensive ways noticed plenty of back-passing and goalkeepers holding up the ball to waste time.

One of many lowest-scoring World Cups, with 2.21 objectives per match.

A then-record 16 purple playing cards had been handed out within the match.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here